Queen City Black Comix Day Participant Katrina Jones

katrina jonesKatrina Jones, a recent Walnut Hills High School graduate, will participate in Queen City Black Comix Day on Aug. 29! She’ll draw well-known comic characters and sell her own art.

Midwest BSFA: How did you get into drawing?
Jones: I’ve always been into drawing. My mom has a notebook dating back to when I was about 2 or 3 of all of my doodles that eventually became pieces of art. I started out drawing different Pokemon and Naruto characters. Then when I was in about sixth grade, I reached out from cartoons and started drawing portraits.

Midwest BSFA: What inspires you?
Jones: Art and music inspire me. The main thing that inspired me to further pursue my art was being a part of ArtWorks Cincinnati. This will be my 4th year and 6th project with them and I can honestly say it changed my life.

Midwest BSFA: How has “geek culture” in Cincinnati helped you do what you love?
Jones: I have noticed that geeks really take the time to appreciate art. They see it and feel it; they don’t see through it. Also geek culture accepts everybody so you can always feel comfortable and welcome in it.

What are your future plans? Do you see art as a career?
Jones: Next year, I will be going to Northern Kentucky University majoring in Electronic Media. My goal is to become a successful music producer. Art will always be a part of my life and career and I plan on selling art my whole life.

Check out her work at https://instagram.com/hurrikaneart.

Leave a Reply

