Queen City Black Comix Day Participant Andre Batts

andrea-batts-ii
Andre Batts of Detroit’s Urban Style Comics returns to Queen City Black Comix Day on June 25! He’s the founder of the Motor City Black Age of Comics Convention.

Midwest BSFA: How did you get into drawing?
Batts: I had been drawing since I was a child. I would draw Marvel and D.C. characters and different album covers, such as Parliament Funkadelic, Earth Wind & Fire, and so on. I guess it was just in me.

Midwest BSFA: What inspires you?
Batts: I’m inspired by the books I read, the movies that are constantly on the big screen. Marvel, D.C. and Image comics keep me inspired due to lack of ethnicity in their characters (by that I mean characters from scratch…not turning characters from white to black).

Midwest BSFA: How does geek culture help you do what you love?
Batts: Once a geek always a geek! It’s not the geek culture that keeps me motivated! It’s just I love to write and draw. It’s enbedded in me to be that way.

Midwest BSFA: What advice do you have for young artists of color?
Batts: Stay true to their craft and themselves.

You can find more out more about Urban Style Comics at www.urbanstylecomics.com.

June 25, noon to 4 p.m., Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County, 2802 Vine St., Corryville (Cincinnati, OH 45219).

Leave a Reply

