Queen City Black Comix Day Participant Charles Washington

cmwashington1

Local comics creator Charles Washington set to attend Queen City Black Comix Day on June 25! We talked to him about his comics journey and what he hopes to achieve with his work.

Midwest BSFA: How did you get into comics?
Washington:
Ever since my fourth grade teacher gave me a comic book about The Tuskegee Airmen, which was published by Golden Legacy Comics, I’ve always wanted to do comics. (Not knowing that 28 years later, I was going to meet the man, who created Golden Legacy Comics, Bertram Fitzgerald.) Ever since then, I always knew that I want to get into comics.

Midwest BSFA: What are you influences? Washington: I’ve been drawing since I was six, but ever since my cousin gave me a Spider-Man comic book, and watching Spider-Man on PBS’ The Electric Company, I’ve been a fan since. My influences are Jack Kirby, Ernie Barnes, Overton Lloyd, and Dawud Anyabwile.

Midwest BSFA: Why do you want to participate in Queen City Black Comix Day?
Washington:
When I came to Queen City Black Comix Day last year, I really enjoyed myself. Seeing young artists and veterans like Urban Style Comics’ Andre Batts was inspiring. I think that it is important for black children to see more positive black images, and I strongly believe that Queen City Black Comix Day can grow into a respectable brand. This is something that I would like to be involved in.

Midwest BSFA: Why do you think it’s important to support black comics creators and illustrators?
Washington:
Like I mentioned before, it’s important for children of color to see positive black images in comics. You have some great black creators and illustrators out there that create wonderful material, and we need to support them.

Midwest BSFA: Where can readers find your work?
Washington:
I have a comic book called Rites Of Passage: The Legend of the Nubian Knights through my imprint, Gone Ballistik. You can find it on www.lulu.com/spotlight/goneballistik989.

June 25, noon to 4 p.m., Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County, 2802 Vine St., Corryville (Cincinnati, OH 45219).

Leave a Reply

