Queen City Black Comix Day Participant Derrick Dankwa

derrick dankwa

Illustrator/musician Derrick Dankwa is coming to Queen City Black Comix Day on June 25! Danwka received his BFA from the Art Academy of Cincinnati in 2015 and is currently working on his own comic series, Antonym, which follows the story of two rival samurai, who also happen to be siblings. Alongside his illustrative work, he recently released a rap/hip-hop CD called HEAT.

Midwest BSFA: How did you get into drawing/comics?
Dankwa: I got into drawing after watching a ton of Dragon Ball Z in my childhood and wanting to make my own characters and stories.

Midwest BSFA: What inspires you? 
Dankwa: A lot of things inspire me – anime with stories that pull me in, people with good work ethics, attention to detail, and well thought-out characters.

Midwest BSFA: How does “geek culture” in Cincinnati help you do what you love?
Dankwa: I don’t think I would have been able to do all that I’ve done if it wasn’t for the comic group at my school. Everyone around my area is heavily into the same things I’m into and show me new games/comics/anime that I can draw inspiration from almost every day.

Midwest BSFA: Do you see an art career in your future?
Dankwa: Now that I’ve graduated, I want to focus on travel. I went to Ghana last July and I want to eventually move out to Los Angeles to further my career. I also want to explore animation.

Check Dankwa out on Saturday, June 25, noon to 4 p.m., Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County, 2802 Vine St., Corryville (Cincinnati, OH 45219).

Leave a Reply

