Chad-TaylorIllustrator Chad Taylor is attending the Midwest BSFA’s Queen City Black Comix Day on June 25! Born and raised in Cincinnati, Chad attended Cincinnati State for graphic design. He debuted his comic series The 5ive footers in 2009 and this year, he recently released his newest series Sword of Tora

Midwest BSFA: How did you get into drawing?
Taylor: My cousins used to draw a lot. I picked up on things and did the same.

Midwest BSFA: What inspires you?
Taylor: People who are original. Interpreting something in a new way.

Midwest BSFA: How does “geek culture” in Cincinnati help you do what you love?
Taylor: Individuality being more mainstream so events can held because of the support. When I did my first issue, the city wasn’t getting comic cons yet. I got to see the change first hand.

Midwest BSFA: Do you have any advice for your artists of color?
Taylor: I would say practice and network. And don’t be scared of critique.

For more info on Chad, check out his blog at http://chad5ive.blogspot.com.
Queen City Black Comix Day, June 25, noon to 4 p.m., Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County, 2802 Vine St., Corryville (Cincinnati, OH 45219).

Leave a comment